Best Paper Award

José Martínez and Ph.D. students Nevin Kirman, Meyrem Kirman, and Mainak Chaudhuri, have received the Best Paper Award at the Intl. Symp. on High Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA), for their paper "Checkpointed Early Load Retirement." Read more

Lang Tong and M. Dong Receive Best Paper Award

Lang Tong and one of his former students, M. Dong, were selected to receive the 2004 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award for their paper, "Optimal Design and Placement of Pilot Symbols for Channel Estimation." Read more

IEEE Micro, "Top Picks"

"Speculative Synchronization: Programmability and Performance for Parallel Codes," written by Jose Martinez, with his then University of Illinois advisor Jose Torrelas, was named in the November/December 2003 issue of IEEE Micro as a "Top Pick." Read more

“Best Paper”

Jim Thorp, his student Jie Chen, and Tim Mount from AEM won the award for best paper in The Complex Systems Track at HICSS in January. Read more

“2004 Plasma Science and Applications Award”

Dave Hammer is being recognized by the Society "for fundamental contributions to the understanding of intense relativistic electron beam propagation, intense ion beam generation and propagation, innovative plasma diagnostic development for intense beam devices, x-ray source development using novel plasma pinches, and for his commitment to the mentoring of graduate students in the field of plasma science." Read more