News: ECE

Goldfeld receives NSF award for analysis of deep neural networks

Ziv Goldfeld, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, received a Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) Research Initiation Initiative (CRII) award from the National Science Foundation for his project titled “New Paradigms in Generalization and Information-Theoretic Analysis of Deep Neural Networks.“ The project will study how information is processed in deep neural networks (DNNs) classifiers to make the decisions of AI mechanisms more transparent to end users and other stakeholders. The main objective is to shed light on the process by which DNNs... Read more

Afridi receives University Research Program Award from Toyota

The award was announced at MODEX 2020, a supply chain logistics conference organized by the Material Handling Institute (MHI) and held in Atlanta, Georgia this month. This year, a record number of applicants from 30 leading universities submitted proposals for the research grant funding program, now in its fourth year. Afridi’s was one of two proposals chosen, and concerns cost effective wireless charging of autonomous material handing vehicles (AMHVs). Warehouses and factories are being transformed by electrically powered AMHVs, which swiftly pick and carry material from one place to another... Read more

ECE Fusion Researcher Sophia Rocco Educates Members of Congress

Last month, Cornell partnered with the University of Rochester and New York University to visit the New York delegation. Cornell was represented by Sophia Rocco, Ph.D. student in the Laboratory of Plasma Studies. “Professors, researchers, students and representatives from start-ups come together in Washington, D.C.,” Rocco explained, “to meet with policymakers and get them excited about the importance of fusion energy and how vital it will be to the energy security of the planet.” Specifically, they asked for a $715 million increase to the budget of the Office of Fusion Energy Science (FES), a... Read more

Christina Delimitrou wins Google Faculty Research Award

For the second year in a row, ECE Assistant Professor Christina Delimitrou has received a Google Faculty Research Award. The awards recognize and support faculty pursuing cutting-edge technical research in Computer Science, Engineering, and related fields. Delimitrou’s proposal aims to address the performance implications of new cloud programming frameworks, such as microservices. Cloud services increasingly consist of a large number of inter-dependent components (microservices), with performance issues in one application tier propagating to others. Manually diagnosing such correlated... Read more

Top ag schools joining forces at Cornell digital ag hackathon

"Feeding our growing population in a more sustainable and cost-effective way is one of the biggest challenges facing humanity," according to ECE Assistant Professor Kirstin Petersen. "This new era in 'digital agriculture' is dependent on technologies that span engineering disciplines, plant sciences, farming practices, and consumer needs. The CIDA Hackathon is exactly the effort we need to bootstrap these critical and radical innovations." Read more

Jayadev Acharya receives Best Paper Award at ALT 2020

Jayadev Acharya, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the Best Paper Award at the 31st International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT 2020), held in San Diego, California earlier this month. The paper was co-authored by Ananda Theertha Suresh, a research scientist at Google. Their paper, “Optimal multiclass overfitting by sequence reconstruction from Hamming queries,” provides a resolution to the problem of overfitting in machine learning. “Often machine learning models are designed and tested on benchmark datasets,” Acharya explained. “Repeatedly... Read more

Christina Delimitrou receives Sloan Research Fellowship for high-risk, high-return research

The Sloan Research Fellowships aim to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists recognized for their distinguished performance and unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field. Each year, 126 researchers are selected to receive the prestigious and competitive two-year fellowships, which include an award of $75,000. Prof. Delimitrou’s selection highlights her team’s work to apply data-driven machine learning approaches to large-scale systems problems. “This is an approach we have previously applied to cloud management in datacenters,” Delimitrou said. “We... Read more

Cornell Research Group Explores Potential of Machine Learning in Medicine

By: Catherine Cai

ECE faculty members Jayadev Acharya, Anthony Reeves, Mert Sabuncu and Qing Zhao are members of a new Cornell research group — Machine Learning in Medicine — focused on improving methods for disease detection and diagnosis. Investigators from Weill Cornell Medicine and Cornell-Ithaca with interest in machine learning applied to clinical questions and data will have the opportunity to learn about each member's work, begin collaborations, co-mentor students and co-author grants. Read more

Announcing the 2020 ECE Outstanding Thesis Research Awards

The annual award is typically given to one graduating Ph.D. student from the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, based on the significance of their doctoral research. This year, two winners were honored, each receiving a $1500.00 cash award. Yingjie Bi‘s thesis focuses on the theory of nonconvex optimization. His research proposes new methods to analyze the performance of algorithms for solving nonconvex optimization problems. His faculty advisor is Kevin Tang. “My research could potentially help people to design better algorithms for nonconvex problems raised in many fields such as... Read more

ECE research groups among Scale-Up Award winners

By: Eric Laine

The College of Engineering has announced the winners of the annual Scale-Up and Prototyping Awards, which give teams of engineering faculty and students up to $40,000 to commercialize startup technologies that might otherwise have trouble obtaining funding. ECE faculty members Khurram Afridi, Huili Grace Xing, and Debdeep Jena lead two of the four winning teams. Read more