Skip to main content

in this section

Jessel, Batten, Rana honored

Monday, November 20, 2017

Among the 19 faculty honored at the 2017 College of Engineering Excellence in Advising, Research and Teaching Awards, hosted in the McManus Lounge on Tuesday, Nov. 7, three were from the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

  • Christopher Batten, Associate Professor received the Michael Tien ’72 Award.
  • Peter Jessel, Professor of Practice and Director of the Masters of Engineering Program received the Kenneth A. Goldman ‘71 Award.
  • Farhan Rana, the Joseph P. Ripley Professor of Engineering and Associate Director received the Michael Tien '72 Award.

The ninth annual awards luncheon recognized distinguished teaching and mentoring within the college, as well as leadership in path-breaking science and technical innovation.

The recipients were congratulated by Lance Collins, the Joseph Silbert Dean of Engineering, who said in a message to the recipients, “Many congratulations to the recipients of this year’s College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching and Advising Awards. We are proud of their commitment to our students and their contributions to excellence in effective learning.

"Faculty members in the college have a tradition of world-class leadership in both teaching and research. It is a privilege to celebrate the success of those faculty members who enhance that tradition and are recognized this year for their excellence in mentoring and educating our students.”

back to listing