Skip to main content

in this section

Batten receives research excellence award

Monday, November 9, 2015

Christopher Batten, Assistant Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been recognized as one of seven winners of the Cornell Engineering Research Excellence Award for 2015. The award is given in recognition of his research contributions and leadership. Nominated by the School, Batten was selected by a committee of recognized senior researchers within the College.

Batten leads a research group focusing on energy-efficient parallel computer architecture for both high-performance and embedded applications. His work has been recognized with several awards including the AFOSR Young Investigator Program Award (2015), Intel Early Career Faculty Honor Program Award (2013), the NSF CAREER award (2012), the DARPA Young Faculty Award (2012), and an IEEE Micro Top Picks selection (2004). Prior to his appointment at Cornell, Batten received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2010.

Other 2015 winners of the Cornell Engineering Research Excellence Award include: Lawrence Bonassar, Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Matthew P. DeLLisa, William L. Lewis Professor of Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Uli B. Weisner, Spencer T. Olin Professor of Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering; Brian J. Kirby, Associate Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Richard Robinson, Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering; and John N. Foster, Assistant Professor, Computer Science.

More information about Professor Batten can be found at and

back to listing