Skip to main content

Faculty Awards and Honors

in this section

ECE Professor Avestimehr Wins IEEE Paper Award

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Salman Avestimehr, Assistant Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has received the IEEE Communications Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award.  The award, which is selected from all of the papers published in any publication of the Communications Society or the Information Theory Society within the previous three years, carries an honorarium and a recognition plaque that will be presented at the International Symposium on Information Theory in July 2013.

Avestimehr won the award for his paper, “Wireless Network Information Flow:  A Deterministic Approach”, which was co-authored with Suhas N. Diggavi and David N. C. Tse.  The paper proposes a new approximation approach for wireless network information theory, which is based on the utilization of deterministic models to approximate more complex Gaussian models. Using this approach, Avestimehr and co-authors established the first constant-gap approximation of the capacity of Gaussian relay networks. The paper was published in IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, in April, 2011.  For more information about the award, see here.

back to listing