Skip to main content

Other Teaching Awards

in this section

IEEE Teaching Award (6/7/2010)


The award citation reads: "The Cornell section of the IEEE would like to congratulate Bruce Land as the Cornell professor who, over the course of the spring 2010 semester, has best exemplified the ideals and spirit of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering."

Bruce Land is a Senior Lecturer in Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell. He teaches three courses in ECE and advises masters of engineering projects in ECE and Biomedical Engineering.

James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award (9/5/2008)

Sunil Bhave, Bruce Land, and Richard Shealy have been selected as College of Engineering’s outstanding teachers and will be recognized this fall as winners of the James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award. This is the highest award for teaching in the college. The three ECE educators were nominated by colleagues within the department and selected by a committee, comprised of former teaching prizewinners from within the College of Engineering.

Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellowship (3/17/2004)

Professor C. Richard Johnson, Jr., was the recipient of one of the 2004 Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellowships for effective, inspiring and distinguished teaching of undergraduate students. The award recognizes excellence in teaching, advising and outstanding efforts toward instructional improvement and development. 

Professor Johnson is the recipient of numerous teaching awards, including the 2003 Joel Spira Excellence in Teaching Award from Cornell's School of Electrical and Computer Engineering; the 2002 J.P. and Mary Barger '50 Teaching Award and the 1996 Michael Tien '72 Teaching Award, from Cornell's College of Engineering; and was the recipient of the 1983 C. Holmes MacDonald Outstanding Teacher Award, a national award from the electrical engineering honorary society Eta Kappa Nu.

IEEE Expert Lecturer (12/16/2003)

Zygmunt J. Haas was reselected as "IEEE Expert Lecturer" for the IEEE Communications Society, 2002-03 and 2003-04.