Skip to main content

Faculty Awards and Honors

in this section

News Listing Archive for 2008

December 23, 2008

“The American Physical Society (APS) Council elects David Hammer to the Executive Board”

The American Physical Society (APS) Council has elected Prof. David Hammer to the APS Executive Board for a two-year term. read more

November 21, 2008

“2009 IEEE Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecturer”

Professor Lang Tong named as an 2009 IEEE Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecturer. read more

November 18, 2008

“IEEE Fellow”

The IEEE Board of Directors, at its meeting on 12 November 2008, has elevated Sheila Hemami to IEEE Fellow, effective 1 January 2009, with the following citation: for contributions to robust and... read more

November 10, 2008

“Young Investigator Program (YIP) Award”

ECE's Edward Suh is one of the 39 scientists and engineers from across the nation to receive the Young Investigator Program Award from Air Force office of Scientific Research AFOSR. read more

September 5, 2008

“James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award”

Sunil Bhave, Bruce Land, and Richard Shealy have been selected as College of Engineering’s outstanding teachers and will be recognized this fall as winners of the James and Mary Tien Excellence in... read more

May 27, 2008

“International Ionospheric Effects Symposium First Prize”

Paul Kintner wins first prize for a paper, entitled Simulating Inosphere-Induced Scintillation for Testing GPS Receiver Phase Tracking Loops. read more

May 25, 2008

“DARPA 2008 Young Faculty Awards”

Three ECE assistant professors, Ehsan Afshari, Sunil Bhave, and Farhan Rana, have been identified by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) to receive DARPA 2008 Young Faculty Awards. read more

May 8, 2008

“Wesley Swartz receives Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teaching Award"

Wesley Swartz, Senior Research Associate receives the Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teaching Award in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2008. read more

March 5, 2008

“2008 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering”

The 2008 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering will be presented to Emeritus professor James Thorp for his career work at Cornell in the "development and application of microprocessor... read more

January 25, 2008

“National Science Foundation Faculty Early CAREER Award”

G. Edward Suh, assistant professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering, recently received a five-year National Science Foundation Faculty Early CAREER Award for his project, "Flexible Multi-Core... read more