Skip to main content

in this section

News Listing Archive for 2004

March 17, 2004

“Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellowship”

Professor C. Richard Johnson, Jr., was the recipient of one of the 2004 Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellowships for effective, inspiring and distinguished teaching of undergraduate students. read more

March 11, 2004

“NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER)”

Farhan Rana has received an award of $400,000 for his proposal, "Semiconductor Lasers for Generating High Energy Ultrashort (sub-50 fs) Optical Pulses: From Nanotechnology to Ultrafast Optics." read more

February 16, 2004

IEEE Micro, "Top Picks"

"Speculative Synchronization: Programmability and Performance for Parallel Codes," written by Jose Martinez, with his then Univiversity of Illinois advisor Jose Torrelas, was named in the... read more

February 6, 2004

“Best Paper”

Jim Thorp, his student Jie Chen, and Tim Mount from AEM won the award for best paper in The Complex Systems Track at HICSS in January. read more

February 5, 2004

“2004 Plasma Science and Applications Award”

Dave Hammer is being recognized by the Society "for fundamental contributions to the understanding of intense relativistic electron beam propagation, intense ion beam generation and propagation,... read more

February 5, 2004

“2004 Lockheed Martin University Research Grants”

Alyssa Apsel was awarded the 2004 Lockheed Martin University Research Grant for her project, "Resonant Monolithic Photodetectors and On-Chip Waveguides for Integrated Optoelectronics." read more